Summary of rules

[The complete set of rules is here. You are responsible for understanding these rules before entering the contest. We have provided a summary below, but you really should read the full rules and conditions.]


Contestants must be university faculty or graduate students in any discipline. All contest entries must link to research designs that are preregistered prior to the date on which 2016 ANES election study data are released.


Contestants submit entries directly to participating journals. To be eligible for the contest, submissions must include the words “ERPC2016” in the submitted title and include a link to a valid preregistration submitted to before the ANES public release data are made available, which could occur as early as late March 2017. If the release occurs earlier or later, the actual release date will be the effective deadline.


These preregistered designs and the corresponding article submissions must identify which items from the ANES questionnaires will be used and how exactly they will be coded and analyzed to test the proposed hypotheses.


Journal article submissions are not restricted to analyses that use only ANES data. While all submissions must include analyses of ANES data that has not been released at the time of registration, other data sources may also be used.


If a participating journal decides to publish an article, the journal will notify the contestant directly. If, for some reason, the contestant does not wish to have the paper published in that journal or to be named a contest winner, they will be offered the option to decline the invitation before contest winners are publicly announced.


Each journal’s own criteria will be the primary basis for publication and review decisions.


Participation in this venture also provides a journal with the option to send a manuscript and reviews to another participating journal in the event that editors of both journals feel that the submission is better off in a participating venue other than the one to which the author(s) initially submitted. This choice is completely at the discretion of the corresponding editors. Journals that receive such inquiries from other journals are not obligated to accept them.


To avoid any actual or perceived conflict of interest, editors are prevented from selecting proposals from family members, former advisors, current or former students and coauthors, departmental colleagues, current or former coauthors, or members of their editorial board. Please note that some participating journals have different or more stringent conflict of interest policies than that stated here. In any case of an actual or perceived conflict between our policies and that of a participating journal, the policies of the journal as interpreted by its editors will always prevail. In the event of a disputed interpretation of these differences, the judgment of the journals’ editors will prevail.


Award winners are expected to attend a spotlight panel at the 2017 or 2018 annual meetings of the American Political Science Association, Midwest Political Science Association, or Southern Political Science Association.


Scholars will be awarded $1,000 at the time that their article is published and $1,000 upon presentation of receipts associated with attending the conference. Scholars will receive the second $1,000 regardless of whether their expenses are more or less than this amount. Funding is available to support up to twenty award packages for published articles. Awards will be split equally among all listed co-authors of a paper unless all authors formally request a different arrangement.

Participating journals will also be offered a subsidy for each accepted article upon official notice of publication to compensate them for any additional work required to participate in the program, cover additional page charges incurred for publishing competition entries. If a journal chooses not to accept the subsidy, we will offer to use the funds to pay up to $3,000 per article for open access charges to increase the number of people who can read the winning papers.

Up to twenty awards are available. If more than twenty qualifying articles are published by participating journals, priority will be given to those that were submitted first to a participating journal.

© 2016 by Arthur Lupia and Brendan Nyhan.

  • Facebook App Icon
  • Twitter App Icon